"If we can effectively kill the national pride and patriotism of just one generation, we have won that country. By making readily available drugs of various kinds, by giving a teenager alcohol, by praising his wildness by strangling him with sex literature, and by advertising to his and her psycho political preparation, we create the necessary attitude of chaos, idleness, and worthlessness." - Joseph Stalin.
Want to be ripe for conquering? Think we're still the America that would stand up against tyranny? Good morning, honey, were you sleeping? All those things listed above are clearly in play in the modern system.
Our "national pride and patriotism" could be renamed our cultural and spiritual identity. Globalization has clearly stripped those away from us. Drugs and alcohol are rampant in the youth culture (40 percent of high schoolers have had marijuana), and the punishment for such "infringements" in the law is laughable (click here, read 5th paragraph).
Television is the vehicle that didn't exist during Stalin's time, that he would have loved to use. With flamboyantly moral-mashing shows like "The OC' and "Nip/Tuck," television is dedicated to appealing to the lowest, most "primal" desires of people -- which affects the way they look at the world. Propaganda?
Aside from the obvious "bad shows," television, by its very nature, is designed to keep you in the La-Z-Boy. NBC coined the term "Must See TV" for their once-powerful Thursday night lineup, because they had several popular 30-minute shows in a row. Sure, it may be harmless to watch one show here and there, but television is such that it sucks you in... and before you know it, your day is over, and you've done nothing.
I didn't really understand this concept until I got married. Television has always been a friend of mine. Whenever I was scared, I would turn it on. Lonely? Pat Sajak was there for me. Bored? Learning how to give my home "curb appeal" would fix that (although I'd never set foot outside my house because I'd always be watching those shows... how ironic).
Since I have been married, I have found that my outright love of my wife and enjoyment of our time spent together has come in direct contrast with my desire to watch certain shows. Savy and I were avid reality TV junkies... every night we would watch at least one show, certain nights more than that. It would be with us when we woke up, and would "lull" us to sleep after a busy day.
I began to realize that in this fleeting life, I was not experiencing my wife to the utmost degree because we wanted to be entertained. More than that, I would always go to bed with regrets of things I should have done that day.
So one day, I pulled the plug. I called the cable company to shut the TV off. Savy and I first discussed it, of course, and lamented not knowing the end of the latest "Bachelor" and "Amazing Race," but in the end, we knew that we had to give that part of our lives to each other and to God.
It was funny when I called Charter Cable. Here's a sample of what our conversation was like:
OPERATOR: Hi this is Jeff, how can I help you?
MH ETERNAL: Hi Jeff. I am calling to turn off my cable.
OPERATOR: What was that?
MH ETERNAL: My cable. I'm calling to disconnect.
OPERATOR: Okay, sir. Hold one moment, please. (pause) May I ask why you are ending your service with us today?
MH ETERNAL: Well, Jeff, I guess we're just sort of done with TV.
OPERATOR: Have you found another provider or something?
MH ETERNAL: Nope. We're really just done with it altogether.
OPERATOR: Hmmm... (pause). Well, it looks like you're only paying just a little over $20 a month. That's a low fee. Are you sure that you just don't want to keep it around just in case you want to watch something?
MH ETERNAL: Uh, no. I really want it gone altogether.
OPERATOR: (pause. typing. sigh) Well, it looks like you're all set. Is there anything else I can do for you?
MH ETERNAL: Oh no, you've been just great.
I knew after hanging up that the powers behind this real Matrix were somehow defeated in a small way. It was amusing to me to see the Charter guy's hail-mary attempts to keep the talons of idleness into my family. I understand it was his job, but I know the Agents can move in and out of those who are plugged-in...
Look, I'm not saying that everyone should do this... well, maybe I am. I mean, really, what's so great about television? The news is so watered-down lately. It's absolute crap. Most of it is the same old story: animals, rapes, and celebrity news. And, in the offhand chance that some television station tackles an issue of any depth, the concept of "fair and balanced" doesn't even remotely come into play (that goes for both of you, Bill O'Reilly and Katie Couric).
What could we do with those extra hours? We could write people a letter, or maybe even write a book. We could help those less fortunate. We could realize all of the dangerous proceedings that are going on in this country and the world, and try to stop it. We could ponder our lives with a loved one. We could paint. We could draw a picture. We could counsel someone. We could learn more about God. We could virtually do anything.
But I think many Americans, even many Christians, would say that such a move is "extreme." Get a newspaper or use Google for your news. You don't need Paris Hilton. I think if we don't get out of this stranglehold of entertainment that we're in, the "machines" have won, and we will be the ones who have to give an account of what we did with the time we had to fight the good fight.
Look, I'm not Mr. Perfect by any means, I'm just sharing what has happened in my life. And you know what? While it was hard at first to imagine life without "Bonnie," or having to survive without "Survivor," once the TV was off with no chance of returning, I felt a sense of freedom that I haven't ever felt before. ::MH::
3 comments:
I think it's very interesting that this hasn't generated any sort of comments, yet. I have noticed already that there is a bit of an adverse reaction to this concept, which really only emphasizes my point that television is a tool of the Matrix, one that is so much a part of our world that no one can contemplate life without it.
It is, without a doubt, a drug... but few realize it. For example, how could a nation of drunks ever realize they have a problem if the concept of alcoholism hasn't entered their consciousness? Does it mean they don't have a problem? No, it just means it's widely accepted... but still a problem!
Like I said, I don't think one TV show here and there is bad, but TV's nature is such that "you can't eat just one." I'd really like to hear some thoughts on this. ::MH::
AK - I don't think your prediction that television will eventually reemerge in my life is at all impossible. I was just thinking yesterday that when my wife is home with babies someday, I don't want to doom her to boredom while she just sits with a newborn... I mean, it's not like she can hold a book and a baby!
But you're right... I too think it will eventually come back, but in a VERY, VERY limited sense. I'm talking only an hour or two a week. And not for a long while. I know if I allow any more than that, I will be like most of America -- addicted and ineffective.
I have a problem with the notion that eliminating television altogether would make me (or any other TV murderer) less relevant to my fellow humans. I can clearly keep up with the news, but I think you might be referring to the pop culture element of television. That is a tricky beast; relevance is key, but I don't want to sacrifice my time, life and sanity just to "keep up" with the drone mindset of most of The Matrix.
So I think this period of no TV will be quite the test to see if I can, in fact, remain relevant without the all-powerful socialization tool.
No matter what you say, though, America has a very serious problem with this energy-sapping, mind-numbing device of Stalin's dreams. Everyone needs to take a look at his or her TV use, and participate in the National TV Turnoff Week next week (April 25 - May 1)!!! ::MH::
HI - some interesting points throughout your site, Im glad I found it. Personally Im glad TV exists, but like every media of communication, those who own it tend to use it for their own greedy purposes, and fail to feed us our vegetables so to speak, yet eagerly dish out the mental junk food we as a society crave. I could open a McDonalds franchise and pretty much guarantee myself an income. Open 4 or 5 of them and I would probably never have to work again. OR I could open up a 24 hour cafe serving wholesome, healthy food in a gimmick free environment. I wonder if I would make or lose money? I suspect, that most people driving by would frown and make a beeline to the nearest franchise and eat their styrofoam lined non-food. The kids would like it better and who would want to argue with the kids at dinnertime... work is hard enough... and at least you know what youre getting... a socially accepted shafting. I bit like tv...
SO, people, make TV your own. Watch selectively. Write to the networks and tell them what yo uwant and dont want. And the big thing - dont buy from advertisers who advertise on shows you hate...
best to all!
Jason.
Post a Comment